关于我们

我们是谁?我们做什么?

寻迹中国是首个按照国际标准打造全新中国徒步路线的国际化团队,路线吸引了全球各地的徒步者和骑行者前来体验,促进了当地的发展,也向世界展示了中国自然风光的无限魅力。人们寻找徒步线路的理由有很多:娱乐、工作或仅仅只为安全通行。那么什么是徒步路线?每一条徒步路线都是移动的生活史,它是文化最本真的样子,也是一种“会呼吸”的“活”文化,它是我们每个人故事的“见证者”,毫无保留地记载了我们在自己生活中写下的一笔一划。但很多时候,这些元素都是孤立存在的,除了少数知情者,大部分人对此一无所知。也因此,这些线路,更重要的是其中包含的故事依旧神秘而不为人知,而体现人性共通,并通过共同生活经历将人们紧紧相连的,恰恰是这些故事。

而寻迹中国的使命就是重新将这些径道连接起来,同时将那些被遗忘的文化、故事和传说等融入进来,重新赋予它们生机。通过整合这些元素,徒步路线也就形成了。这些路线相互连接,共同诉说着当地的历史,以一种敬重的态度与当地文化进行互动,并号召大家一起参与进来,在徒步的过程中也留下自己的故事。能在中国开展这项工作是我们的荣幸。我们团队的徒步专家进行了几百个小时的实地调研,不仅仅是为了到户外去亲身体验路线,更是为了了解当地社区和历史,了解当地设施情况和组织领导情况,从而开创出安全、可持续的徒步路线,创造更加令人难忘、耐人寻味的徒步旅程。

团队

胡锴铁

“中国帜造”CEO与共同创始人。“中国帜造”是一家以促进中西方交流与合作、增强双方友谊为使命的公司。在创立公司之前,胡锴铁从事国际贸易多年,在市场营销、生产和分销方面积累了稳固的合作伙伴资源。2011年,他成为世界折叠自行车领军企业“大行”(DAHON)的全球OEM销售经理兼欧洲销售经理。他也是英国最大的自行车制造商英国“凤头牌”(Raleigh UK)的首位华裔雇员,并获得了“最佳销售经理”称号。2012年,胡锴铁在广州一个活动上偶遇里昂,那时里昂正结束6个月的徒步之旅,他从戈壁沙漠一路徒步至中国南海。此后,两人对户外娱乐的共同兴趣和热情促使他们在接下来的几年里不懈努力,为徒步/寻迹中国的诞生打下基础。作为一个自豪的湖南人,胡锴铁对中国文化和中式营商方式理解深刻,这也为我们开拓新路线时获取当地居民和政府的支持、形成合作提供了保障。

里昂·麦卡伦

里昂·麦卡伦是一位来自北爱尔兰的作家、电影制作者和冒险家。他也是皇家地理协会和“亚伯拉罕路线倡议”协会的成员、2017年“内维尔·舒尔曼挑战奖”获得者,同时还是BBC主持人。里昂已经出版了两本书:《西行之路》(‘The Road Headed West’ )和《大地之外》(‘The Land Beyond’),他同时也在《国家地理》、《新科学人》、《卫报》、《星期日泰晤士报》以及《每日电讯报》等报刊杂志发表了多篇文章。里昂同时也是“冒险网”(adventure.com)的独家供稿人。里昂一直在摸索如何通过放慢脚步、深入探索从而影响我们所听到和讲述的故事。他认为,通过用双脚亲自走近故事,记者会发现新的叙述方式,发掘故事新的意义,同时也有更充足的时间去体验人与人之间的深层联系,并传播背后的故事。他最近在探索一些有关人性的故事,发掘一些经常被西方媒体妖魔化(或误解)的地方差异,以矫正人们对此的认知。截至目前为止,里昂绕“圣地”徒步了1000英里,从耶路撒冷经过约旦、西奈半岛、巴勒斯坦和以色列再回到耶路撒冷。他于2018年徒步前往科索沃、亚美尼亚、伊拉克库尔德斯坦和也门索科特拉岛,寻找独特的故事和视角。

大卫·兰蒂斯

大卫·兰蒂斯从事徒步路线开发已有10多年,他是“耶稣徒步”路线(Jesus Trail)的创始人。该路线素有“中东卡密诺朝圣之路”之称,从调研到实地考察再到摄影和宣传,大卫监督了路线开发的整个过程。他去过70多个国家,徒步和骑行的足迹遍及世界各地,路线长达数万英里。大卫项目管理经验丰富,作为“亚伯拉罕路线”的地区总监,他在中东地区五个国家开发了2000多公里的徒步路线。同时,他还负责管理团队,与当地组织发展合作伙伴关系,通过与“村村通”新闻社( Village to Village Press)合作,他们印制了一些徒步地图和指南手册,为现有徒步路线进一步打开了市场,其中也包括“卡密诺朝圣之路”。大卫是“世界步道网络”的董事会成员,也是“世界步道网络”美洲地区副主席。他近期正致力于开发一条长途自行车骑行路线,其中包括位于维吉尼亚哈里森堡办公室附近的“跨维吉尼亚石路骑行路线”。

我们的服务

我们的团队在开发徒步路线方面具有丰富的一手经验——从初期调查到市场营销和出版我们都有充足的经验。为了打造高质量、符合国际水准的徒步路线,我们的考量除了线路本身,还包含住宿、餐饮、中途歇脚点和来回的交通,也充分考虑了当地社区的参与和路线对他们的影响,以及人流对环境的影响。当然,也必须慎重考虑并平衡当地历史文化与路线开发。当这些都认真彻底落实后,一条徒步路线的意义就不仅仅是“A到B”这么简单了,它还能不断地为当地居民提供收入、保护我们赖以生存的自然环境,同时将世界各地的人们聚集到一起,共同分享他们的经历和见解。这正是寻迹中国的信念所在,也是我们团队想利用专业知识为大家提供的“服务”。

官网是为大家集中展示我们工作进展的一个实时更新的平台,我们也想通过官网为您提供徒步和骑行相关信息。在官网上您也可以看到现有中国徒步路线的详细信息,包括如何达到目的地以及当地的一些情况。

ABOUT US

Who are we, and what do we do?

At Trails China, we’re the very first international team to create brand-new, international-standard trails throughout China that attract global walkers and bikers, support local communities and showcase the inexhaustible splendour of China’s natural world. Across the world, people seek out trails for myriad reasons; recreation, work, safe passage. But what is a trail? A trail is the history of life in motion; it is living, breathing culture at its most organic; it is the nonjudgmental paper to our own pens, absorbing the endless stories we write. Often these elements exist in isolation, lost to all but those who know. As a result, these paths, and most importantly, these stories, that anchor us in our shared humanity and connect us all through lived experience, remain hidden. At Trails China, our role is to reconnect these paths. Our role is to absorb the culture, the stories, the myths and the legends of generations gone by, so that we keep them alive in reconnecting these paths. By engaging with all of these elements, a trail can be born; a series of connected pathways that tell the history of the area, that respect and engage with the culture of the area, and that invite you to do the same, leaving your own story behind in the process. It is our privilege to carry out this work across China. Our team of professionals conduct the hundreds of hours of research necessary not just to get outdoors and walk the paths, but to get to know the community, the history, the facilities and the key decision makers, in order to create an international-standard trail that is safe, sustainable, thought-provoking and memorable.

The Team

Dennis Hu

Dennis is CEO and co-founder of Make it China, which facilitates greater communication, cooperation and friendship between China and the West. Prior to Make it China, Dennis worked in international trade for many years, with strong partners in marketing, Chinese manufacturing and distribution. In 2011 he became Global OEM Sales Manager and European Sales Manager for DAHON, the world leader in folding bikes. Dennis was also the first Chinese employee at Britain’s oldest bicycle manufacturer, Raleigh UK, winning the title of top sales manager. In 2012, Dennis and Leon met by chance at an event in Guangzhou, following Leon’s six-month, 3,000 mile walk from the Gobi Desert to the South China Sea. Since this moment, their shared passion for
active, outdoor recreation has resulted in years of tireless work to lay the path for Trails China. As a proud Hunanese, Dennis has a profound and deep understanding of Chinese culture and business practices, which has served as the basis for securing the support and cooperation of local communities and governments in the development of new trails. 

Leon McCarron

Leon is a writer, filmmaker and adventurer from Northern Ireland.  He is a fellow of the Royal Geographical Society, a Fellow of the Abraham Path Initiative, a recipient of the 2017 Neville Shulman Challenge Award, and a BBC presenter. Leon has released two books, ‘The Road Headed West’ and ‘The Land Beyond’, and his writing has been widely published in National Geographic, New Scientist, The Guardian, The Sunday Times and The Telegraph. He is also a featured contributor to adventure.com. Leon explores the ways in which moving slowly and thoroughly affects the stories that we hear and tell. His idea is that by approaching storytelling on foot, reporters can find new narratives and meaning, and are perhaps afforded more time to experience and disseminate a deeper human connection. Much of his recent work has been seeking out these stories of humanity and nuance in parts of the world that are often demonised (or misunderstood) by Western media. To this end, Leon walked a 1000 mile loop through the Holy Land, from Jerusalem to Jerusalem via Jordan, the Sinai peninsula, Palestine and Israel, and in 2018 travelled on foot in Kosovo, Armenia, Iraqi Kurdistan and on the Yemeni island of Socotra in search of unique stories and perspectives.

David Landis

David has worked with trail development projects for more than a decade. He is a founder of the Jesus Trail, which is often described as “the Camino of the Middle East” and oversaw every process of its development, from research to fieldwork to photography and publicity. He has visited more than 70 countries and has hiked and cycled tens of thousands of miles of trails around the world. He is experienced in project management, having developed more than 2,000 kilometers of trails in five countries in the Middle East through his work as Regional Director of the Abraham Path. He has managed staff and developed relationships with local partner organizations, and through his work with Village to Village Press, has produced popular maps and guidebooks that have expanded markets for existing trails, including the Camino de Santiago. David serves on the Board of Directors for the World Trails Network, and is vice-chair of the WTN Hub for the Americas. His recent obsession is long-distance bike-packing trails, including the Trans-Virginia Gravel Bike Route, which he is currently developing near his base in Harrisonburg, Virginia.

What we offer

Our team has extensive, first-hand experience of developing trails, from initial research through to marketing and publishing. To create a high-quality, international-standard trail there is much to consider beyond the actual pathways; the provision of accommodation, food and drink, places to rest, transportation to and from the trail, the impact and involvement of the local community, the environmental impact of the influx of visitors and of course the cultural and historical fabric of the area must all be delicately considered and balanced. When done carefully and thoroughly, a trail is so much more than a route from A to B. It can provide sustainable income to local people, protect the natural world it relies upon, and bring people from all over the world together to share experiences and understanding. This is what Trails China believes in, and this is the service our collective expertise offers. 

As well as our website being a hub for updating you on and showcasing our own work, we also want to provide you with a resource for your walking and biking adventures across China. You’ll also be able to find details of existing networks of paths that you can walk on throughout China, as well as details of how to get there, and what you can expect to find when you’re there.